Last updated:
A root canal saves a badly infected or damaged tooth. The price depends on which tooth needs treatment. A front tooth with a single canal costs less than a molar with several. Most treated back teeth also need a crown, which can double the bill.
This guide breaks down root canal cost by tooth type, adds the crown, and explains what dental insurance and Medicare actually cover. It also covers how to lower what you pay.
- Delta Dental’s 2025 out-of-network averages are about $1,200 for a front tooth, $1,300 for a premolar and $1,500 for a molar.
- A crown adds about $1,015 to $2,670 (national average $1,560), so a molar root canal plus crown often totals $2,500 or more.
- Insurance commonly pays 50% to 80% of a root canal and about 50% of a crown after the deductible, up to the plan’s annual maximum.
- Original Medicare doesn’t cover routine dental work like root canals.
Root canal cost by tooth type
The more canals a tooth has, the longer the treatment takes, and the more it costs. The American Association of Endodontists (AAE) explains that front teeth “typically have a single canal and are easier to treat,” while molars with multiple canals cost more “due to the increased time and expertise required.”
| Tooth type | CDT code | Out-of-network average (Delta Dental, 2025) | National range (Pearl, 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Front tooth (incisor, canine) | D3310 | About $1,200 | Not reported |
| Premolar (bicuspid) | D3320 | About $1,300 | Not reported |
| Molar | D3330 | About $1,500 | $685-$1,800 (avg. $1,050) |
| Crown afterward | D2740 | Billed separately | $1,015-$2,670 (avg. $1,560) |
Sources: Delta Dental (2025 internal data) and Pearl Dental Costs for root canals and crowns (ADA fee survey data, May 2026).
Delta Dental notes that the root canal fee covers all of the treatment appointments and X-rays, whether it takes one visit or five. Fees from in-network dentists are often lower because of negotiated discounts.
Why most root canals need a crown
A root canal removes the infected pulp inside the tooth, and the tooth then needs to be restored. Cleveland Clinic describes a typical sequence. The root canal visit lasts 60 to 90 minutes. Then there are two more appointments, one to prepare the tooth for a permanent crown and one to place it, which protects the tooth and restores your bite. Pearl adds that a crown is “almost always required afterward” and is billed separately.
Crown prices vary with the material (all-ceramic, porcelain-fused-to-metal, zirconia or gold), the lab, and whether the tooth needs a build-up first. Ask your dentist which restoration your tooth needs. For cosmetic fixes on front teeth, see our guides to dental bonding cost and veneers cost.
Root canal plus crown: total cost examples
Using Pearl’s national averages, a molar root canal ($1,050) plus a crown ($1,560) comes to about $2,610 before insurance. With Delta Dental’s out-of-network molar estimate ($1,500), the total is closer to $3,060.
Here’s a simple illustration of insurance, assuming the deductible is already met. If a plan pays 80% of the $1,050 root canal ($840) and 50% of the $1,560 crown ($780), its share is $1,620. That’s more than a $1,500 annual maximum. You’d owe your $990 coinsurance plus the $120 above the cap, or $1,110 in total. Your plan’s actual percentages, fee schedule and maximum will differ. That’s why it’s worth asking for a pre-treatment estimate.
What else affects the price
- Who does the treatment. Pearl notes that endodontists (root canal specialists) charge more than general dentists.
- Complexity. The AAE lists curved, narrow or extra canals, retreatment of an earlier root canal, and severe infection as factors that raise the cost.
- Location. Urban practices typically charge more than rural ones.
- Add-ons. These can include a core build-up under the crown, sedation, and emergency or after-hours visits.
What dental insurance covers
Most dental plans treat root canals as basic or major care. Pearl reports that most PPO plans cover root canals at 50% to 80% after the deductible, and crowns at about 50%, up to the annual maximum. The AAE notes that some plans require pre-authorization.
The annual maximum is the main limit. The ADA reports that 32.8% of plans cap benefits at $1,000 to $1,500 a year, and 48.2% cap them at $1,500 to $2,500. A root canal and crown together can use up most of a lower maximum. Other things to check:
- Waiting periods on newly purchased plans before major services are covered.
- Frequency limits on how often the plan will pay to replace a crown.
- Crown timing. If the year’s maximum is nearly used up, ask whether placing the crown early the next year makes sense clinically. Don’t delay without your dentist’s okay, since the crown protects the treated tooth.
Medicare, Medicaid and low-cost options
Medicare.gov states that Original Medicare doesn’t cover most dental services. Exceptions are limited to dental care tied to certain covered medical treatment or a hospital stay. Many Medicare Advantage plans include dental benefits, but with annual caps. Medicaid adult dental coverage varies by state, according to NIDCR.
Ways to pay less:
- Dental school clinics provide supervised care at reduced cost.
- Community health centers charge sliding-scale fees based on income.
- HSA and FSA funds cover dental treatment with pre-tax dollars, and large dental bills may count toward the medical expense deduction in IRS Publication 502.
- Payment plans from the dental office are usually safer than medical credit cards, which often carry high deferred interest.
Root canal vs extraction: which costs less?
Pulling the tooth looks cheaper at first. A simple extraction averages about $260 (Pearl). But the AAE points out that the cost rarely ends there. A missing tooth usually needs an implant or bridge, and a complete single implant costs about $3,000 to $5,600, according to NewMouth. The AAE concludes that saving your natural tooth is generally the more cost-effective choice over time. Our dental implants cost guide explains the replacement route if a tooth can’t be saved.
See a dentist promptly if you have pain when chewing, jaw swelling, a darkened or loose tooth, or a pimple-like bump on the gum. Cleveland Clinic lists these as warning signs. Get same-day or emergency care for facial or jaw swelling, fever, or trouble swallowing or breathing, because a spreading dental infection can be serious.
Frequently asked questions
Is a molar root canal more expensive than a front tooth?
Yes. Delta Dental’s 2025 out-of-network averages are about $1,500 for a molar and about $1,200 for a front tooth, because molars have more canals.
Does the root canal price include the crown?
No. The crown is a separate procedure. It averages about $1,560 nationally, with a range of $1,015 to $2,670, according to Pearl.
How much does insurance pay for a root canal?
Many plans pay 50% to 80% after the deductible, up to the annual maximum. Ask your dentist to request a pre-treatment estimate.
Does Medicare cover root canals?
Original Medicare generally doesn’t. Some Medicare Advantage plans include root canals as part of their dental benefits.
Is it cheaper to just pull the tooth?
At first, yes. But replacing the tooth with an implant or bridge usually costs more than a root canal and crown, which is why the AAE recommends saving the tooth when possible.
Sources
- Delta Dental, How Much Does a Root Canal Treatment Cost?
- Pearl Dental Costs, Root Canal: National Cost
- Pearl Dental Costs, Dental Crown: National Cost
- American Association of Endodontists, How Much Does a Root Canal Cost?
- Cleveland Clinic, Root Canal
Save this guide for later on Pinterest




